The MaGic in the NO!

24 Jul

I am beginning to think Eli has a special ability.  No, is his speech SUPER POWER!

No therapist I have spoken to, is surprised that Eli can say no.  In fact, no is one word they almost never have to teach a child to say.
However Eli CAN do something that seems to surprise all his speech therapists.  He can say almost anything if he says no first. There is something about that word that opens up his speech, or perhaps its that he us slighty or extremely emotional when he says it.

For instance, Eli has had a comforting song that I have sung to him since he was tiny that would always sooth him, You Are My Sunshine.  Now that he is older, he knows I am trying to get him to go to sleep and often that makes him mad.  It goes something like this…

Mommy:  “You are my sunshine, my only sunshine”

Eli:  “No, suh-shine!”

Mommy:  “You make me happy”

Eli:  “No, happy!”

Mommy:  “When skies are grey.”

Eli:  “No, skies gay!”

This goes on for the rest of the song till Eli says, “No, wuv you!”

Times like this we all stop and laugh.  It may make my a bad mother, but it is hysterical.  Make him mad and you can make him a talking parrot . . . with the no in front, of course.

Why does he do this?  My best guess is that the emotions help him over come the mis-connection that happens when he thinks about trying to say words.  I am not an expert by any means, but I am an expert on Eli.  I see so much in him, that he can say words.  They are not always clear much like any small child learning how to place words in their mouth, but he can.  It is a matter, for him, of being able to say them by choice.

So why do I think this is a super power?  Because, I have not heard of other children using the word, no, this way.  I am interested to find out if there are others.  Especially, since it seems to be special to the speech therapists.

SPECIAL UPDATE:::   ‘Today Eli said, “peas cacker”!! (please, cracker)  Everyone in the kitchen cheered and Eli was so happy he did a happy dance!!  One day at a time we will find those words.

Leave a comment