Time Has Told And Life Goes On…

17 Feb

Can it really be 3 years since my last post?  It’s unbelievable how fast these little lives go!

Eli age 6Eli is now 6 years old and his life has changed in many ways.  The first and most important change for this blog, is that Eli has overcome all signs of Apraxia.  His speech is greatly improved. So much so, that 2 years ago I chose to stop his speech therapy.  His therapist recommended going to just classes and no more one on ones.  Eli very quickly grew to dislike this and I have always felt that if a child hates anything than they will not get much out of it. Was this the right decision?  Has this hurt his speech advancement?  I do not think it has.  He now speaks freely without hesitation.

I remember when I cherished the little words as a precious gift.  I remember being worried about who this little man would grow up to be.  In the last 3 years he has started homeschooling and is the poster child for children who learn to read from online schooling.  He is way above his age level in reading.  He is and has been a tiny computer genius and lives to play video games much like his older brothers.IMG_20151206_193125351

Eli is the youngest of 8, and all of the cliches are true, the youngest does get away with everything.  He does get to play video games longer than the others did, he does have people serve him more than others and he is the light of my life!

Elis

I do possibly see more speech therapy in his future, just to help with pronunciations, but for the most part he is very average in his speech.  This story has many chapters left and I look forward to seeing what more stories there are to be told.  I have learned from this little man to have patience and breathe through the obstacles that life brings, especially with children.  Many, many concerns and difficulties we face as parents are overcome simply with time.  For instance, I am as I type this, calling Eli in the room for kicking his sister.  He stomps out of the room and apologizes in the most insincere way.  There was a day with another sibling, that I would worry about angry behavior and wonder if I am raising a serial killer.  Now I know, even the angriest little guys can grow up to be the most amazing kindest young men you will ever meet.  If you are struggling with anything in your children’s lives, wait. Time can be your friend!IMG_20151126_135704230

Leave a comment